I’m a contracted author!

I’m so very excited to announce that I just signed my first writing contract! It’s for BEER AND GROPING IN LAS VEGAS, a 13K word novelette, due out in January 2013 by Secret Cravings Publishing!

I actually had two contract offers on the piece and opted to go with Secret Cravings, which I’m very excited to be a part of this established e-publisher.

I have to admit, I got choked up when I received Secret’s contract. I felt like all my hard work (and obsession with writing) had finally paid off, that it was a reality, that I hadn’t been fooling myself that I could do this.

This Sunday, for Six Sentence Sunday, I’ll post the opening six sentences to give you a taste :)

Here was my query, which I’ll use as my jumping point for my blurb:

Riley McGregor is a geek trapped in a Good Ole Boy body and as owner of a microbrewery, he’s just not meeting his type. Smart chicks never look at him twice. He’d like to find someone who appreciates him for who he truly is.

Rejected by a geek who wanted to “trade up,” Mirjam Linna has lost herself in her work as a computer programmer. When a djinn and a magic slot machine bring these two together for a blind date, Mirjam wants nothing to do with it. However, her sister threatens more drastic measures if she doesn’t take advantage of the offer. Mirjam agrees to dinner, but after that, she’ll say thanks, but no thanks, and see what’s on late night on the SyFy channel. But when they meet, they are surprised to find they had a shared connection in their past. Sparks fly as these two learn to be in the moment, be themselves and find love.

BEER AND GROPING IN LAS VEGAS is a romantic comedy with paranormal elements, complete at 13,400 words. Fans of Star Trek, Star Wars, Monty Python, Firefly and Marvin the Martian will enjoy this romance.

Obviously, I’m super excited for a number of reasons. One of them, oddly, is that I’m looking forward to the process: working with Secret Cravings on the cover, working with their editor to polish this puppy up, etc.!

I also want to thank my Beta readers who helped me get my submission to a place I felt confident sending it out. Thank you so much!

Anyway, just had to share :)

What about you? If you’re contracted, do you remember that first moment when someone actually said “yes”?

, , , ,

44 Responses to I’m a contracted author!

  1. Patrick July 11, 2012 at 9:34 am #

    Wow, congratulations Angela! I look forward to seeing your book on the shelves!

  2. L.J. Kentowski July 11, 2012 at 9:38 am #

    Omg! Congrats, Angela!!! That’s so exciting & I’m so happy for you! Can’t wait for Sunday to get a peek at this bad boy, but just from the query I can tell I’ll love it! Awesome!

  3. Chantel Rhondeau July 11, 2012 at 9:38 am #

    Congratulations!! That is so terrific!

  4. Gem July 11, 2012 at 9:39 am #

    YAY!!! So pleased for you. But my only surprise is that it is your first contract. I have enjoyed your fab story telling ability on SSS weekly. Big congrats. :)

  5. Donna Cummings July 11, 2012 at 9:42 am #

    CONGRATULATIONS! This is really exciting. I enjoyed being a beta reader for this story, and can’t wait to have the published version on my Nook!

  6. Cerridwen July 11, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    Congratulations! That’s WONDERFUL! :o)

  7. sarahballance July 11, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    CONGRATULATIONS!
    My first contract, I was convinced was a mistake. I didn’t believe it until long after the book actually published–most of the excitement was lost to disbelief, LOL.

    • Angela Quarles July 11, 2012 at 9:50 am #

      LOL Sarah, I know what you mean! I actually signed it last night, but until I heard back from the publisher saying they got it, and it hadn’t been a mistake, I was loathe to announce it, convinced something would go wrong…

  8. Melinda Dozier July 11, 2012 at 9:47 am #

    Excellent and WOO HOO! Celebrating with you! Open the champagne.

  9. ashlynmathews July 11, 2012 at 10:07 am #

    Congrats to a fellow CC! I’m very happy for you!

  10. Rebekkah N. July 11, 2012 at 10:11 am #

    Congrats! And wow, I want to read this! Can’t wait until it comes out. 😉

  11. Catherine Johnson July 11, 2012 at 10:18 am #

    Congratulations, that’s wonderful! Your blog looks awesome btw.

  12. Piper Bayard July 11, 2012 at 10:25 am #

    Congratulations, Angela! Woot! Woot! Sounds like a very fun novella, and I’ll look forward to it.

  13. sue July 11, 2012 at 10:30 am #

    That’s wonderful! I’m glad you found a way to get that story out! This is your first but not last contract. Get used to it!! Congrats again

  14. Cristin Harber July 11, 2012 at 11:10 am #

    Great news! Congratulations!

  15. Lindsey July 11, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

    Congratulations!

  16. rachelleayala July 11, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

    Yay! So happy for you!!! Secret Cravings sounds very interesting indeed.

  17. Teresa Cypher July 11, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

    Such wonderful news! All your hard work is paying off. Kudos! :-)

  18. mooderino July 11, 2012 at 1:32 pm #

    That’s awesome news, Angela. So pleased for you.

    mood

  19. Jean Davis July 11, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    That’s great news! Congratulations!

  20. Rebecca Hart July 11, 2012 at 3:01 pm #

    Major congrats!!!

  21. Jo-Ann Carson July 11, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

    Congratulations…It couldn`t happen to a nicer person.
    Happy writing
    Jo-Ann

  22. Cera duBois July 11, 2012 at 4:49 pm #

    CONGRATULATIONS, Angela!!!!

  23. Tara Mills July 11, 2012 at 4:59 pm #

    You totally earned it Angela! I’m sooooo happy for you. Celebrate. All the associated work starts tomorrow. Fantastic.

  24. Heather Boyd July 11, 2012 at 6:18 pm #

    Hey Congratulations!!!

  25. Kate Meader (@KittyMeader) July 11, 2012 at 7:08 pm #

    Fantastic news, Angela! I really enjoyed the SSS snippets…now here’s to getting Breeches into the hands of the agent who will love it.

  26. Dahnya Och July 11, 2012 at 8:35 pm #

    Oh man, congrats Angela! This is so wonderful!

    Beer and Groping in Las Vegas sounds so delightful… please keep us all updated!

  27. J.A. Garland July 11, 2012 at 10:26 pm #

    BIG BIG congratulations! So happy for you, and us, because now we get to read it!

    • Angela Quarles July 11, 2012 at 10:29 pm #

      Aw, thanks! And it went through the FF&P mud puddle, too!

      • celiabreslin July 15, 2012 at 10:40 pm #

        Wahoo! Congrats Angela! I missed it when it went through the Mud Puddle. Look forward to reading it when it’s out! :)

  28. Cynthia Eden July 11, 2012 at 10:47 pm #

    Congratulations!!!!

  29. kimberlysullivan July 12, 2012 at 3:24 am #

    Wonderful news! Congratulations!!

  30. Babette James July 12, 2012 at 5:33 am #

    Congratulations! What a fun title. :)

  31. Karla Gomez July 12, 2012 at 10:20 am #

    osjdwljdksnkn!!! That is so awesome!!!!!!!!

  32. Mae Clair July 12, 2012 at 12:52 pm #

    Awesome! I knew it was just a matter of time. I’m thrilled for you!

  33. Monica T. Rodriguez July 12, 2012 at 8:44 pm #

    Congratulations, Angela! I’m so happy for you!

  34. michellebermas July 12, 2012 at 8:44 pm #

    Huge Congratulations! It’s great news.

  35. Writerlious July 13, 2012 at 10:59 am #

    WooooHoooooo!!! CONGRATS! This is so awesome. :) I assume you’ll be posting a link to purchase this novelette when it comes out?? I can’t wait to read it.

  36. Jami Gold July 13, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

    Yay! *happy dance* So happy for you. I can’t wait to read the story in its finished form. :) Congratulations, my friend!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Six Sentence Sunday – 7/15/12 « Angela Quarles - July 15, 2012

    […] writers share six sentences from their work. I have some exciting news (for me)– Secret Cravings contracted my novelette BEER AND GROPING IN LAS VEGAS! It is scheduled for release January 2013! I had two contract offers on it, and received a third […]

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress. Designed by WooThemes

%d bloggers like this: