I’m a contracted author!

I’m so very excited to announce that I just signed my first writing contract! It’s for BEER AND GROPING IN LAS VEGAS, a 13K word novelette, due out in January 2013 by Secret Cravings Publishing!

I actually had two contract offers on the piece and opted to go with Secret Cravings, which I’m very excited to be a part of this established e-publisher.

I have to admit, I got choked up when I received Secret’s contract. I felt like all my hard work (and obsession with writing) had finally paid off, that it was a reality, that I hadn’t been fooling myself that I could do this.

This Sunday, for Six Sentence Sunday, I’ll post the opening six sentences to give you a taste :)

Here was my query, which I’ll use as my jumping point for my blurb:

Riley McGregor is a geek trapped in a Good Ole Boy body and as owner of a microbrewery, he’s just not meeting his type. Smart chicks never look at him twice. He’d like to find someone who appreciates him for who he truly is.

Rejected by a geek who wanted to “trade up,” Mirjam Linna has lost herself in her work as a computer programmer. When a djinn and a magic slot machine bring these two together for a blind date, Mirjam wants nothing to do with it. However, her sister threatens more drastic measures if she doesn’t take advantage of the offer. Mirjam agrees to dinner, but after that, she’ll say thanks, but no thanks, and see what’s on late night on the SyFy channel. But when they meet, they are surprised to find they had a shared connection in their past. Sparks fly as these two learn to be in the moment, be themselves and find love.

BEER AND GROPING IN LAS VEGAS is a romantic comedy with paranormal elements, complete at 13,400 words. Fans of Star Trek, Star Wars, Monty Python, Firefly and Marvin the Martian will enjoy this romance.

Obviously, I’m super excited for a number of reasons. One of them, oddly, is that I’m looking forward to the process: working with Secret Cravings on the cover, working with their editor to polish this puppy up, etc.!

I also want to thank my Beta readers who helped me get my submission to a place I felt confident sending it out. Thank you so much!

Anyway, just had to share :)

What about you? If you’re contracted, do you remember that first moment when someone actually said “yes”?

About these ads
Leave a comment

44 Comments

  1. Wow, congratulations Angela! I look forward to seeing your book on the shelves!

    Reply
  2. L.J. Kentowski

     /  July 11, 2012

    Omg! Congrats, Angela!!! That’s so exciting & I’m so happy for you! Can’t wait for Sunday to get a peek at this bad boy, but just from the query I can tell I’ll love it! Awesome!

    Reply
  3. Congratulations!! That is so terrific!

    Reply
  4. Gem

     /  July 11, 2012

    YAY!!! So pleased for you. But my only surprise is that it is your first contract. I have enjoyed your fab story telling ability on SSS weekly. Big congrats. :)

    Reply
  5. CONGRATULATIONS! This is really exciting. I enjoyed being a beta reader for this story, and can’t wait to have the published version on my Nook!

    Reply
  6. Cerridwen

     /  July 11, 2012

    Congratulations! That’s WONDERFUL! :o)

    Reply
  7. CONGRATULATIONS!
    My first contract, I was convinced was a mistake. I didn’t believe it until long after the book actually published–most of the excitement was lost to disbelief, LOL.

    Reply
    • LOL Sarah, I know what you mean! I actually signed it last night, but until I heard back from the publisher saying they got it, and it hadn’t been a mistake, I was loathe to announce it, convinced something would go wrong…

      Reply
  8. Excellent and WOO HOO! Celebrating with you! Open the champagne.

    Reply
  9. Congrats to a fellow CC! I’m very happy for you!

    Reply
  10. Congrats! And wow, I want to read this! Can’t wait until it comes out. ;)

    Reply
  11. Congratulations, that’s wonderful! Your blog looks awesome btw.

    Reply
  12. Congratulations, Angela! Woot! Woot! Sounds like a very fun novella, and I’ll look forward to it.

    Reply
  13. That’s wonderful! I’m glad you found a way to get that story out! This is your first but not last contract. Get used to it!! Congrats again

    Reply
  14. Great news! Congratulations!

    Reply
  15. Congratulations!

    Reply
  16. Yay! So happy for you!!! Secret Cravings sounds very interesting indeed.

    Reply
  17. Such wonderful news! All your hard work is paying off. Kudos! :-)

    Reply
  18. That’s awesome news, Angela. So pleased for you.

    mood

    Reply
  19. That’s great news! Congratulations!

    Reply
  20. Major congrats!!!

    Reply
  21. Jo-Ann Carson

     /  July 11, 2012

    Congratulations…It couldn`t happen to a nicer person.
    Happy writing
    Jo-Ann

    Reply
  22. CONGRATULATIONS, Angela!!!!

    Reply
  23. You totally earned it Angela! I’m sooooo happy for you. Celebrate. All the associated work starts tomorrow. Fantastic.

    Reply
  24. Hey Congratulations!!!

    Reply
  25. Fantastic news, Angela! I really enjoyed the SSS snippets…now here’s to getting Breeches into the hands of the agent who will love it.

    Reply
  26. Oh man, congrats Angela! This is so wonderful!

    Beer and Groping in Las Vegas sounds so delightful… please keep us all updated!

    Reply
  27. BIG BIG congratulations! So happy for you, and us, because now we get to read it!

    Reply
  28. Congratulations!!!!

    Reply
  29. Wonderful news! Congratulations!!

    Reply
  30. Congratulations! What a fun title. :)

    Reply
  31. osjdwljdksnkn!!! That is so awesome!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  32. Awesome! I knew it was just a matter of time. I’m thrilled for you!

    Reply
  33. Congratulations, Angela! I’m so happy for you!

    Reply
  34. Huge Congratulations! It’s great news.

    Reply
  35. WooooHoooooo!!! CONGRATS! This is so awesome. :) I assume you’ll be posting a link to purchase this novelette when it comes out?? I can’t wait to read it.

    Reply
  36. Yay! *happy dance* So happy for you. I can’t wait to read the story in its finished form. :) Congratulations, my friend!

    Reply
  1. Six Sentence Sunday – 7/15/12 « Angela Quarles

Don't be a dork, leave a reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: